Board of Directors
No one logged in.

Board of Directors

As a Mutual company, we are owned by our policyholders.  Which means  we are as transparent as possible in the way we conduct business and we strive to serve the best interests of our policyholders.

Steven I. Miller

Mr. Miller, is the current president and CEO of California Mutual Insurance Company. Mr. Miller has been in the insurance industry for over 33 years, serving positions of Chief Financial Officer and Chief Operating Officer prior to joining California Mutual. He has also provided consulting work for the industry on accounting, regulatory and reinsurance matters. Prior to beginning his career in the insurance industry, Mr. Miller worked as a CPA. He is a graduate of the University of Texas majoring in Accounting. 

Kenneth Bettencourt

Mr. Bettencourt, is the owner/broker of Ridgemark Realty.  Previously he was President of Ridgemark Corporation and Vice-President and County Manager of Western Title Insurance Company in San Benito County and Vice-President/ County Manager of Fidelity National Title Company in Monterey.  Mr. Bettencourt is a graduate of Gavilan College.


Cheri L. Schmidt

Ms. Schmidt is the Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer of California Mutual Insurance Company.  Ms. Schmidt has been with the Company since 2001.  Prior to joining California Mutual, she was a Senior Auditor for Kasavan & Pope, CPA, working on the insurance audit team.  Ms. Schmidt has served as a trustee for Southside School District, served on several Homeowner Association Boards, and was a board member of Hollister Viking Youth Football and Cheer.  She currently serves as an officer of the Northern California Chapter of Insurance Accounting and Systems Association.

Ed Stephenson

Mr. Stephenson, worked 39 years in the banking industry and was president of San Benito Bank from 1983 to 2004.  He has served 23 years as a director of San Benito County Saddle Horse Show Association, 11 years as an officer of Monterey Bay Area Council of Boy Scouts of America, and 23 years as a member of the Hollister Rotary Club.  He also serves on the Board of Community Foundation for San Benito County and was past Chairman and President.  Mr. Stephenson holds a bachelors degree in economics from Stanford University and a MBA from the University of California, Berkeley.    

Milo Pearson

Mr. Pearson, has over 40 years in the insurance industry in both the private and public sectors that reflect significant leadership and executive responsibility, including Chairman of the Caribbean Catastrophe Risk Insurance Facility, COO of the California Earthquake Authority and Deputy Insurance Commissioner for the California Department of Insurance.  He served as Executive Director of the Pacific Association of Domestic Insurance Companies, an industry trade association.  Mr. Pearson spent fourteen years of private sector insurance involved with underwriting, pricing, marketing and administrative management.  Mr. Pearson holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from California State University at Long Beach and is the Senior Partner/Owner of Milo Person Consulting.

Sandy Rose

Ms. Rose, is a licensed insurance agent.  As a member of the Independent Agents Association, she has taken extensive classes in property and casualty insurance and served on the Agri-Business committee as its chairperson.  She was the California representative to serve on the ISO committee and was instrumental in the formation of the generic agri-business application that was adopted by all carriers.  Ms. Rose was the proprietor of Sandy Rose Insurance Services.  She is the current Chairman of the Community Foundation for San Benito County, a member of the Hollister Rotary and the San Benito Cattlewomen’s Association.  


John Tobias

Mr. Tobias has owned and operated Tobias Farms since 1976, growing a variety of organic and conventional row crops.  John was raised on a cattle and dry farming ranch in San Benito County.  Graduating from Oregon State University, with a degree in Business Administration.  He has been a long time member of the San Benito County Farm Bureau, served on the 33rd District Agricultural Association for 16 years and is currently serving his fourth term as a director of the San Benito County Water District.


Elwood Dryden - Honorary Board Member

Mr. Dryden, served on the board of Directors of California Mutual from November 1981 to April 2013.  He is a local business owner and president of Sugar Plum Farms.  He was formally President of San Benito County Chamber of Commerce and past trustee of Hazel Hawkins Hospital Foundation.  Mr. Dryden graduated from Gavilan College.